Salinity drainage committee formed

30 Oct, 2002 10:00 PM

A GROUP of salinity drainage supporters have formed a committee to put the spotlight on landcare issues.

Narembeen farmer John Hall said the Wheatbelt Channel Steering Committee planned bypass agencies set up to control landcare in WA.

It would focus of a scheme proposed by Federal Agriculture Minister Warren Truss, which would allow salinity management at regional level.

"We are fed up with wastage and inaction. We are going to liaise with the Commonwealth Government and corporate Australia," Mr Hall said.

"We have levelled the water table at Hyden and Narembeen and we can return the land to high production.

"Agencies are not interested in funding solutions.

"They are spending more money doing tests and trials when they is a whole book of knowledge about drainage out there.

"We have formed a steering committee and we will have bigger meeting soon to call for support."

Committee secretary Margaret Carmody said the group was not just focused on agriculture.

"We want to revive the waterways, bring back the black swans and all the native flora and fauna," she said.

"We are concerned about NAP funding. It is supposed to go directly to the most severely affected areas.

"But outer Wheatbelt towns have not seen any money come back into the district.

"We have direct contact with (Deputy Prime Minister) John Anderson's office and it is highly likely he will be coming to WA to address farmers in January.

"The project will give direction to both agencies and farmers. It will reorganise and give structure to the scramble of agricultural, bushcare, environmental funding under many different programs by many different organisations."


light grey arrow
I'm one of the people who want marijuana to be legalized, some city have been approved it but
light grey arrow
#blueysmegacarshowandcruise2019 10 years on Daniels Ute will be apart of another massive cause.
light grey arrow
Australia's live animal trade is nothing but a blood stained industry that suits those who