Smooth transition for WAFarmers

20 Jan, 2016 01:00 AM
Tony York, Tammin, will take over next month as WAFarmers president.
Tony York, Tammin, will take over next month as WAFarmers president.

TAMMIN grain and sheep farmer Tony York will take over as president of WAFarmers in a smooth transition at its annual meeting next month.

Mr York, who has served two two-year terms as senior vice president, will replace Badgingarra farmer Dale Park.

Mr York was the sole nominee.

Mr Park has served the maximum two terms allowed by WAFarmers' constitution.

Vice president and Albany farmer Ms Lyn Slade will take over from Mr York as senior vice president, Mr Park said.

Ms Slade was the only nomination for the position.

The new positions will be confirmed at the WAFarmers annual general meeting on February 18.

Three nominations have been received for the two remaining positions on the executive team so an election by vote of members will be required at the annual meeting, Mr Park said.

Nominations were received from Katanning farmer and AgConnectWA president Kallum Blake, who is renominating for his position, and from Rhys Turton and Will Easton.

Mr Turton is a York grain grower and sheep producer and Mr Easton is a Moora farmer.

The WAFarmer's Wool and Meat councils will merge to become the Livestock Council.

The amalgamation is designed to better allocate resources and streamline processes, including reducing the number of meetings and travel for council members.

"There will still be individual section meetings for those two councils, '' Mr Park said.

which will be chaired by their own committees and will have their own section meetings," Mr Park said.

"But they will also come together under the Livestock Council as there are many similar and overlapping issues between them."

President, senior vice president and vice president of the Livestock Council will be elected at the annual meeting.

Meat Council executive members have nominated for their equivalent positions on the Livestock Council with John Wallace hoping to be president, David Slade senior vice president and Steve McGuire vice president.

The Grains Council executive has also renominated for another term with Duncan Young seeking the president position, Mic Fels senior vice president and Kallum Blake vice president.

The executive members of other WAFarmers councils will remain unchanged.

Mal Gill

Mal Gill

is wool and dairy writer for Farm Weekly


Screen name *
Email address *
Remember me?
Comment *


light grey arrow
The Minister of Ag can use WA's Gene Technology Act 2006 to manage GM & GM-free crops for market
light grey arrow
Time will judge if they can implement what growers are asking for. Not what a director
light grey arrow
Absolutely agreed. Chinese demand for high-quality protein is increasing, as is demand from