HAL welcomes new director

27 Nov, 2011 02:00 AM

Horticulture Australia Limited (HAL) elected two Board Members at the company’s Annual General Meeting held in Sydney on 24 November, 2011: returning Board Member Professor Robert Clark and new Board Member Mr Darral Ashton.

“In establishing HAL, the members saw the importance of having the right mix of skills represented on its Board. Each of HALs Directors has experience and skills that will be beneficial to the company,” Mr Snell said.

“On behalf of the other Directors, I would like to congratulate Professor Clark and Mr Ashton on their election. It is a great privilege to serve the horticulture industry and I look forward to working with them,” he said.

This is Prof Clark’s second term as a Director of Horticulture Australia. Prof Clark is deputy Chairman of Horticulture Australia as well as a non executive director of the Geoffrey Gardiner Dairy Foundation and a member of the QAAFI Advisory Board.

Prof Clark, who was named a Member of the Order of Australia in 2008, is also the proprietor and Managing Partner of Lanoma Estate, a 400ha intensive agricultural property in the Derwent Valley, Tasmania. His previous appointments include Deputy Chairman of the Rural Industry Research and Development Corporation, and non executive director of Webster Ltd.

He holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science with First Class Honours and a Doctor of Philosophy (Horticultural Science).

Mr Ashton has been involved in the Apple and Pear industries for more than 35 years. He has managed a family orchard at Batlow, NSW and also has broad experience in retail and importing/exporting produce, as well as marketing.

Mr Ashton is a former Chairman of Apple and Pear Australia and a current director of Plant Health Australia Limited. He is also a former director and chairman of the Batlow Fruit Cooperative.

Mr Ashton is an associate member of the Australian Institute of Marketing and a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Selwyn Snell also acknowledged retiring Director Ms Lisa Cork for her work with HAL: “I would like to thank Ms Cork for the outstanding contribution she has made as Director of the Board over the past three years”.

Following the AGM, the Board met to elect office bearers. Selwyn Snell and Professor Robert Clark were returned to the roles of Chair and Deputy Chair respectively.

The HAL Board consists of eight directors: Mr Selwyn Snell (Chair), Mr Darral Ashton, Mr Ken Boundy, Ms Sue Carter, Prof Robert Clark (Deputy Chair), Mr David Cliffe, Dr Ray Johnson and Mr Robert Seldon.


Screen name *
Email address *
Remember me?
Comment *


light grey arrow
I'm one of the people who want marijuana to be legalized, some city have been approved it but
light grey arrow
#blueysmegacarshowandcruise2019 10 years on Daniels Ute will be apart of another massive cause.
light grey arrow
Australia's live animal trade is nothing but a blood stained industry that suits those who